Tuscan Wild Boar Stew

I love all the Wild Meats with their rich mysterious flavours and Wild Boar is probably my favourite. Maybe because I am a Boar in Chinese Astrology. Maybe I just like things that are a little bit different, a little bit special. Wild Boar is becoming more and more popular in the UK and some good Butchers will sell it when it is in season. However I get mine from an online Organic Frozen Meat Butcher named Farmers Choice.

So chit chat aside, here is my Recipe for a hearty Tuscan Wild Boar Stew.

Ingredients:

(serves 4 @ 7 Weightwatchers points)
500g Wild Boar, diced, marinated in 300ml Italian Red Wine overnight
2 Onions, sliced
1 Garlic Clove, squished
2 Bay leaves
10g Dried Porchini Mushrooms, soaked in warm Water for 30 minutes
1 Carrot, cut into small chunks

1 Celery Stick, cut into small chunks
1/2 tsp Dried Thyme
3 Juniper Berries
1/2 tsp Dried Savoury
1 tbs Olive Oil

1tbs Flour mixed with a little Water

Remove the Meat from the Marinade, but reserve the Marinade for later use. Pat the Meat dry with some kitchen paper.

Heat the Olive Oil in a heavy based pot/pan and brown the Meat in batches, so the pan doesn’t overcrowd and the meat has enough room to get a nice colour. Once done, return all the Meat to the pot and add the Onions, Carrot, Bay leaves, Garlic, Juniper, Herbs and season with Salt and fresh Ground Pepper.
Sauté all this for a little while before adding the reserved Red Wine marinade. Also add the Porchini Mushrooms including the Water they have been soaking in. Take care though, right at the bottom a little gritty dirt may have collected, leave this behind and discard.
Bring everything to a simmer and check the seasoning.
Now stir in the Flour slurry, cover nd place in the Oven at 150C for 2 hours.
 
Traditionally this dish is served with Polenta, but I have made a Cannellini Bean and Potato Purée and some Vegetables to accompany my Wild Boar.



One thought on “Tuscan Wild Boar Stew

  1. OMG, I love wild boar stew. Here in Esslingen in the Christmas market there is one vendor who always have this stew/soup. One nice size bowl per week until the fest is over place a big smile on my face. Each year I look forward just to eat it. Just reading your page make me look forward to December!

Leave a comment